Masters of War Vs. Blowin in the Wind

So I was reading the Greil Marcus book and I decided to post about Masters of War and Blowin in the wind. To be honest with you it has been bugging me for a while now about these two songs but I held it in, so here is me about to vent (sort of). Blowing in the wind is a incredible song I love the way it asks  questions that who knows when they will be answered. I think it was a brilliant song that deserve the number 2 place on the billboards but I BELIEVE MASTERS OF WAR IS BETTER THAN BLOWIN IN THE WIND.  Masters of War is very heartfelt that grips at the soul when he sings/plays it. The best line in that song is when he  states he will go to their grave and watch while they bury them and stand over their grave to make sure their dead (I lost it when I heard that)!! I’ve never heard a protest song that strong before. Masters or War is the EPITOME of greatness and I think it should be talked about as much (or more than) Blowin in the Wind. Okay done venting BYE!!

3 responses to “Masters of War Vs. Blowin in the Wind

  • abbymarshall

    I think Eddie Vedder agrees with you! 🙂

  • Robert Schlembach

    I agree with you, but they are two very different songs. Blowin in the Wind is something people can listen to and enjoy – even for non-folk music lovers like me. It was a song that people really got into – I feel it didn’t take a big stand, but everyone could get behind it. It was also short and radio friendly.
    Masters of War is so much stronger of a song for sure – no argument, but in combination that Dylan didn’t play it very often live and that it is such a violently powerful (and certainly not peaceful) song that it didn’t fit at antiwar rallies and didn’t get as popular, not to mention it was nearly double the length of Blowin’

  • mbaig124

    There’s something to be said about music that leads us to our own personal conclusions. “Masters of War” is cool in that we are provided more answers than questions in regards to Dylan’s perception of twenty-first century power structures. But “blowin’ in the wind” doesn’t suffer from taking a more open, subjective approach. “Masters,” I would argue, holds Dylan to a more direct and sincere position but that’s precisely the very reason why I wouldn’t be able to discuss it without mentioning “blowin’ ” at least once. For me, the two songs work as foils to each other which also leads me to conclude that one isn’t necessarily better than the other. All the rage and contempt we might feel towards corporate america and deceptive partisan politics does manifest in “masters,” but we’re not angry all the time. Sometimes reflection itself is the activity instead of using reflection to arrive at some kind of concrete point. As someone who is far to transparent for his own good, I appreciate music that is a little less direct/preachy. Let’s keep this debate open and see what happens. Or let’s not so I can finish my book report. Much my opinion on the two songs, I’m fine with either one.

Leave a Reply

